Red Sage Publishing
Random header image... Refresh for more!

Just Released: Through The Darkness by D. Van Heest

by admin

I am pleased to release the second book in the Lara Martin series, Through the Darkness.  Lara continues her journey with a trip home for the holidays but life gets complicated when she discovers a family secret that will change all their lives. While Lara is gone, Brian must hunt down a serial murderer. Along with Officer Julie Kinkella and a cast of intriguing characters they must find the killer before it’s too late.

My book is semi-autobiographical. I wanted to write a book dealing with my personal experiences kind of like Carrie Bradshaw (Sex in the city) but where Carrie has a fun and flirty life Lara Martin has the opposite however she never gives up. The other characters that share this book, Brian Hammond and Julie Kinkella, are tied to the story because they are tied to Lara. Her journey takes them on an adventure and you don’t really know where they’ll end up.


Thanksgiving has come to the south and Lara hopes to spend a relaxing holiday with her family but her sister makes an unexpected announcement that changes everything. Renee had given a baby up for adoption. Thrown into an emotional tailspin, Lara must grapple with her own feelings over being adopted while helping Renee prepare for the sudden and unforeseen visit from the daughter she gave up seventeen years ago. Through it all Lara has Brian, the dark handsome police detective that entered her life so unexpectedly, but their relationship hangs in the balance. The happiest time of year becomes a nightmare when Lara leaves, unable to accept the love he’s offering. Brian has little time to consider it as he and Detective Ballard are on the hunt again this time for a serial killer. Solid evidence links a suspect to two murders and a kidnapping but not everything is as it seems and while Lara struggles through her own darkness Brian must find his way through an intricate web of lies before the killer strikes again.


To find out more about this release and the authors other books click here



Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: